Hello D-Tools Community!

Over the last few months, we have gone over some of the various aspects of cable construction. Connector tolerances, shielding, connection types, overmolding, and cable construction are just part of what goes into making HDMI cables. As the articles have pointed out, there can many subtle differences that can really add up when it comes to quality and performance.

Over the next few months, we will concentrate on one aspect that does not change, brings fear and trepidation to manufactures, resellers, and consumers, and is probably one of the most misunderstood aspects of HDMI cabling  – the HDMI Trademark and Logo Guidelines.

How many times have you heard “I have a 1.3b cable”? Or, is my cable is built to 1.3C, 1.3b1, 1.2, or even 1.4? All of these examples are WRONG! Yes, wrong.

Let’s get to the basics –

Prior to the release of the current HDMI Specification, v1.4 in June of 2009, there were only 2 types of HDMI cables:

Standard Speed (sometimes referred to as Category 1 or Cat 1) – HDMI Cables tested to 75Mhz or up to 2.25Gbps.

High Speed (sometimes referred to Category 2 or Cat 2) – HDMI Cables tested to 340Mhz or up to 10.2Gbps (Note: 10.2Gbps is still the maximum bandwidth currently available).

Yes, that’s right, only two types of cables – Standard and High Speed!

But how can this be? What about all of that other 1.3c, 1.3b1, 1.3c stuff? Well, D-Tools members, all of those references are Compliance Test Specifications (CTS) which have nothing to do with HDMI cable labeling. In fact, the CTS references are not even meant for consumer references as they are for manufacturers only. What this means is that any cable labeled with anything other than Standard or High Speed is out of compliance per the HDMI Trademark and Logo Guidelines.

Yikes! That sure sounds controversial doesn’t it? However, all you really need to do is see for yourself:



You can download the latest version of the Trademark and Logo Guidelines by simply visiting the HDMI website. The Trademark and Logo Guidelines are right on the landing page.

Now, with the release of v1.4, there are now only five (5) Types of HDMI Cables:

Standard Speed

High Speed

Standard Speed with Ethernet

High Speed with Ethernet


Please remember that even though the HDMI Trademark and Logo is a long document, the cable section is pretty easy! Please also note that HDMI Adopters, the company’s manufacturing and or reselling HDMI products, should know and understand this document.

Bottom Line: No version numbers for cables.

Please note that when the initial version of the HDMI Trademark and Logo Guidelines came out in November of 2007, HDMI Licensing, LLC, the entity in charge of the administration of enforcement of the HDMI Standard, published the Trademark and Logo Guidelines to lessen the confusion that was in the marketplace. Because the HDMI standard is continually evolving, newer versions of the specification must come out to keep up with the advancement of the technology, hence the new revision numbers. T

For next month, we will continue or discussion on the Trademark and Logo Guidelines and go more in depth on the importance of NOT having revision numbers as well how the guidelines can actually help you with your product offering.

As always, should you need any additional information, please feel free to drop me a line.



Michael Schaller
Kordz USA