I wanted to make sure our users were aware of a feature in SI5.5 that can save them from a lot of pain and wasted time if something “bad” happens to their local computer. Over the past few years I have heard from several D-Tools users who told me they spent three days working on a project, only to lose it because their hard drive “took a dump” or their laptop was stolen. There is a very easy work flow process that can be added to your daily routine to help protect you from this. I am assuming you are working with SI5.5 Pro. If you have a Server and a Client set up, the easy way to protect your work is to use the Check-In and Check-Out feature.
When you Check-In a project from your Client to the Server, you are adding a copy of your project to the server. Then when you Check-Out your project from the server, the copy is retained on the Server and marked as a Read-Only file. Checking in a project updates the copy of the project on the Server machine so that if anything happens to your local machine, you have a fairly recent backup copy on the server.
When you “check out” a project from the Server, copies of the project files are copied to your local machine and they are editable. The project files on the Server are marked as Read-Only so that no one can modify the project while you have it checked out in your custody. If you make changes to the project while checked out, the Server machine has no record of any changes until you “check in” the project. This will copy the project files from your local machine back up to the server and overwrite the “old” files.
Disaster Example: A user checks out a project to their machine and begins adding products and doing drawings. They work on the project for three days without checking the project back in on the Server. One night at home, their darling little toddler decides to see if the laptop floats in the bathtub, frying the machine. This user will have lost all work done on that project since they checked it out. The project files on the server can be “unlocked” so that they are not Read-Only but they will be in that state they were in since that project was last checked in. Using is process is easy and can save you from a lot of grief, hope this helps.